Skip to main content
inner banner


Economic Intelligence Council (EIC) & Working Group On Intelligence Apparatus (WGIA) Pertaining to EIC

Economic Intelligence Council-

In view of linkages being developed in recent times between economic offences and threats to national security, the Government constituted Economic Intelligence Council (EIC) under the chairmanship of Finance Ministerin the year 1990 to facilitate coordination amongst the enforcement agencies dealing with economic offences The mandate of the EIC is to combat generation and laundering of Black Money through intelligence gathering on issues relating to economic security, provide inter-agency coordination and deal with economic offences in an effective manner.

The EIC has the following Constitution:

  • Finance Minister        -    Chairman
  • Minister of State (Revenue)    -    Vice Chairman


  • Governor, Reserve Bank of India
  • Finance Secretary/Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs
  • Home Secretary
  • Revenue Secretary
  • Secretary, Department of Company Affairs
  • Secretary, Financial Sector, Department of Economic Affairs
  • Secretary, National Security Council Secretariat
  • Chairman, Securities & Exchange Board of India
  • Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes
  • Chairman, Central Board of Indirect Taxes & Customs
  • Director General, Central Economic Intelligence Bureau
  • Director General, Narcotics Control Bureau
  • Director General, Directorate General of Revenue Intelligence
  • Director General, Directorate General of Goods & Service Tax Intelligence
  • Additional Secretary, Department of Revenue
  • Director, Directorate of Enforcement
  • Director General, Directorate General of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Commerce
  • Director, Financial Intelligence Unit-India
  • Director General, National Investigation Agency

Special Invitees:

  • Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs
  • Secretary, R&AW
  • Director, Intelligence Bureau
  • Director, Central Bureau of Investigation
  • Director General, Border Security Force

The EIC may also invite any other official or person whose views/participation is considered beneficial for the furtherance of its objectives.

The EIC would be serviced by the Secretariat of the CEIB and the Director General, CEIB acts as the Member Secretary of the EIC.

Working Group on Intelligence Apparatus-

The Government has constituted a Standing Working Group under the Chairmanship of the Union Revenue Secretary. The Working Group on Intelligence Apparatus (WGIA) acts as a precursor to the EIC.

The WGIA has the following Constitution:

  • Revenue Secretary                        -    Chairman
  • Chairman, CBDT                        -    Member
  • Chairman, CBIC                        -    Member
  • Director General, CEIB                              -    Member
  • Director, (Enforcement)                    -    Member
  • Additional Secretary (R&AW)                -    Member
  • Addl. Secretary (Financial Sector)                -    Member
  • Director General, DRI                        -    Member
  • Director General, DGGSTI                    -    Member
  • Additional Director General, CEIB                -    Member
  • Dy. Director General (Enforcement), NCB            -    Member
  • Joint Secretary (IS), MHA                    -    Member
  • Joint Secretary, Department of Company Affairs        -    Member
  • Joint Director, IB                        -    Member 
  • Joint Director, EOW-III, CBI                    -    Member

The Working Group can co-opt any Member as a Special Invitee as may be deemed necessary.